I Don’t Give a Puck about Hockey

February 23, 2007 at 9:49 am 1 comment

So I went to my second ever Nashville Predators match last night – versus the Montreal Canadiens. I didn’t know this but the Preds are #1 in North America right now – but I went for $2 beer night. 🙂

We met out at Rippy’s Smokin’ Bar and Grill for a little BBQ din-din to enjoy the weather and the lower-Broadway sights and sounds before the game – which I love to do. It was a little chilly to really enjoy our rooftop seats, but it was fun. THRONGS of people were pouring into the arena, so I suspected this was a pretty good match-up. Whatevs – I mean, I don’t even know the rules of hockey so I was really more in to this for the opportunity to go out after a week in quarantine. Oh, and did I mention $2 beer night?

We enjoyed our BBQ and made it to the game in the middle of the first period (I just learned that last night!). Grabbed our beer ration and hit our seats. I also learned that whilst the puck is in play you are supposed to freeze – no one in, no one out of the seating area. What? That is pure bullshizz. If you are so cheap that you buy the rafter seats, don’t bitch at me for the following (not a definitive list): coming in late, getting up to use the restroom, getting up to get more beer, coming in and/or out whilst the puck is in play. We bought cheap tickets because we don’t give a damn and just wanted to be out and about. Some people buy cheap tickets because they are cheap and don’t realize they are getting what that paid for.

I also learned a lot. When regulation play starts, it is not called a “tip off”, “kick off”, or “puck off” – it is called a “face off“. Who knew? That is not intuitive. Also, these fans are for real! Not like Tennessee Titans fans. But, more than once I yelled “Go Buckeyes” on accident – or out of habit. It feels strange to say anything other than that.

Anyway, by the standards set forth by people in my party, this was a very good game (or is it match?). The Preds were up the entire game until the last few seconds when the Canadiens scored on Vocoun (who depending on who you ask is either a God or a complete loser), so the game ended all tied up 5 – 5. Then something exciting happened – I was told that when the Preds score 5 goals the fans get free tacos! YAY! TACOS! But then I found out we actually had to go to Taco Bell to get them. Boo. So when a game ends with a tie score there is like 5 minutes of play and then a shoot out and then – if still tied – sudden death. Well, the Preds lost in the shoot out. Oh well. I still won – fun times, $2 beers, an allegedly free taco minus the cost of gasoline, and an excuse to go HONKY TONKIN‘!

I really love going out downtown! So we went for some post-game food, drink and live tunes at Robert’s Western World. One of my all time faves in Nashville! A little dance and a few more laughs and Cinderella had to get home before the stroke of midnight! The best news is: one of my very best friends in the world is coming to town tonight so I get to go out downtown AGAIN!! WOOT!!

Entry filed under: food, friends, hilarity, Nashville.

My Job Makes Me Feel Like: Final Landing With A Golden Parachute

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Fun Fest « O-Town  |  March 7, 2007 at 7:08 am

    […] of pints later, Justin and Seth go to meet up with a mutual friend of ours and I head out to Robert’s with Mason and his wife Jen. Mason wanted to grab a cab, so we park back at Judge Bean’s and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Talk to me…

My status

Please Talk to Me…

Call o-town from your phone!

Oh SNAP!

Striking at the Westin

Salaries Renvoyes!

Mmmm real coffee

More Photos

Who Goes There?

Add to Google

