Y! vs. G

August 30, 2007 at 11:30 am 2 comments

I couldn’t believe my eyes – bleary as they were – when I read the Wall Street Journal this morning at the gym. Some crazy individual was saying Yahoo! Mail, finally out of beta, crushes Google’s Gmail application. “What?! Stop smokin crack, home slice!”, is precisely what I thought as I carried the B section out to my car. GMail is da bomb! I love the IMing from the app (not to be followed by the corporate gestapo, thank you very little), I love the quasi-tagging capabilities, (improvements need to be made here, admittedly), and plus it has super-human spam blocking. This reviewer obvs was cornfused, I chortled, as I sipped my Starbucks and drove home.

[side bar: don’t do core exercises the day of a move, my abs were KILLING me today and also don’t even bother doing legs the day after a move. I could barely move 70 lbs on the leg press this a.m. Weak.]

I avidly read the article and was DYING to see what all this Yahoo! Mail buzz was all about. Finally after what felt like endless meetings this morning, I logged on to Yahoo! and I’ll tell you what, I think I might migrate to Yahoo! which has always always been my junk receptacle. In the spirit of full disclosure, like many who have a full blown love affair with the Internets and all things webby, I have at least one email account with every major webmail carrier and have never really been able to choose my favorite since they all had such disparate functionality and dicey UIs. No more. I think I am freakin in loooooove with Yahoo! Mail. Frealz! It isn’t slow and jumpy like the new hotmail, it has better funx than GMail, Outlook web access is ridonkulously bad…so I can’t even compare that…I haven’t logged on to my Caramail.fr account in like 100 years – perhaps they’ve closed it for me – so I don’t know about that one.

My dear readers, if you haven’t already, please go check your Yahoo! Mail – and (gulp!) I take back all the nasty things I’ve said over the years about Yahoo being behind the 8-ball. I was so wrong. This so totally ups the ante for the next GMail release (who has been in beta since 2004).

Entry filed under: Oh My!, techie crap.

Snappy Snapperson Umm, cute.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jon (was) in Michigan  |  August 30, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    They did some fancy stuff, but it still is the same thing as before. Prettier column for the folders, but still piles of folders. And now there’s a “home” tab. They still can’t seem to figure out how to filter spam out either. I still get TONS of spam in the Yahoo inbox but none in my Gmail inbox.

    The thing I like about Gmail is that its uncluttered, like their homepage. Yahoo has cluttered up their mail and made it as bad as their homepage. A mess. And someone at Yahoo obviously thought people wanted their web-based email to look like Outlook. Didn’t they know? We HATE Outlook! I’ll keep my Gmail account for now.

    Reply
  • 2. otown  |  August 30, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Jon – interesting view point. i always thought i was getting junk at my yahoo account b/c i sent it there. yes yes, the ymail is more cluttered than gmail and i don’t even notice the silly little ads google places (far less obtrusive than the glaring ymail ads), but still, I do like the majority of the funx better. gmail will still be where i house my professional stuff and yahoo my crummy stuff, but i think there is a migration in my future.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Talk to me…

My status

Please Talk to Me…

Call o-town from your phone!

Oh SNAP!

Striking at the Westin

Salaries Renvoyes!

Mmmm real coffee

More Photos

Who Goes There?

Add to Google

